2008 SoulTracks Readers' Choice Awards Winners!

 awards logo

Well, the waiting is over!  Many thanks to all of you who voted for this year's winners of the SoulTracks Readers' Choice Awards.  And further thanks to the enthusiastic audience that filled the Max M. Fisher Music Center to attend this year's Awards ceremony. 

What a night!  The performances by April Hill, Algebra, Gordon Chambers, Phil Perry, Liv Warfield, Conya Doss, Heston, Monica Blaire and of course Sy Smith were simply amazing.  We cannot thank enough all of the great talent that came to Detroit to make it an historical evening.   And it was followed by a group tour of the amazing Motown Museum in Detroit on Saturday and an incredible All-Star Jam on Saturday night.

For those of you who weren't there, here are your winners of this year's Readers' Choice Awards.  All of the nominees were incredible, and the voting was close in nearly every category.  Congratulations to all of the finalists! You can see a review of the evening at 4DaSoul, and you can see pictures of this great evening by clicking here


Album of the Year

Mint Condition - e-Life
Dwele - Sketches of a Man
Angela Johnson - A Woman's Touch
Conya Doss - Still
Sy Smith - Conflict



Song of the Year

Dwele - "I'm Cheatin"
Mint Condition - "Nothing Left..."
Angela Johnson ft. Eric Roberson -
"Let Me Know"
Conya Doss - "Something 2Nite"
Algebra - "Run and Hide"


Conya Doss - Still (2008)

Female Vocalist of the Year  

Conya Doss
Regina Belle
Sy Smith
Angela Johnson



Male Vocalist of the Year

Frank McComb
Bobby Caldwell
Amp Fiddler 



Duo or Group of the Year

Mint Condition
The Whispers
Hil St. Soul
Sharon Jones & the Dap Kings



New Artist of the Year

Algebra and April Hill
Liv Warfield
Melissa Young



Lifetime Achievement Award

The Dramatics

Listening Room
Jamison Ross - Jamison
CD of the Month
Najee - You, Me and Forever
Sneak Peek Listening Room
Teedra Moses - Cognac and Conversation
Sneak Peek Listening Room
Terri Lyne Carrington - The Mosaic Project: Love and Soul

Leave a comment!