Cool Million

Cool Million

If there is any duo that has captured the funk and soul sound of the 80s and brought it to the 2000s, it is Cool Million.  Founded by Frank Ryle, known as the leader of the Danish soul music site, and German songwriter and producer Rob Hardt (Chaka Khan, Keith Sweat), the production duo debuted on Expansion Records' 2007 Soul Togetherness compilation with the song "Naughty Girl" (featuring Lene Riebau).

Rob and Frank then set their sights on creating their own full disc, and issued the critically acclaimed Going Out Tonight in 2008. Featuring a number of solid guest vocalists, the album was an unadulterated tribute to 80s soul and funk. They then took it up a notch in 2010 with Back for More, an excellent funk workout featuring such vocalists as Meli'sa Morgan, Eugene Wilde and Leroy Burgess. It became an international hit and increased the duo's audience. 

By Chris Rizik

Video of the Month - Kea Michaels - "Not My Friend"
Choice Cut - Chris Jasper - "Have I Told You Lately"
Song of the Month - Tracy Cruz - "Your Love's Everything"

Leave a comment!