Diplomats of Solid Sound

Diplomats of Solid Sound

    Official Biography (courtesy of the Diplomats of Solid Sound)

    The Diplomats of Solid Sound is a funk and soul group from Iowa City, IA that performs with a modern garage band twist. Having already cut 4 full-length albums, including "Instrumental Action Soul" (2001) on their own Prescription Records, both "Let´s Cool One"(2003) and "Destination Get Down!" (2005) on the mighty Estrus Records, and their first release on Record Kicks, the self-titled "The Diplomats Of Solid Sound feat. The Diplomettes" (2008), produced by Lack Of Afro from Freestyle Records and where they appear alongside The Diplomettes for the first time, this band can certainly be considered a veteran of its craft.

    With each release The Diplomats Of Solid Sound grew in sophistication and depth as they ingested the sounds of 60s soul, R&B and deep funk. In 2006 The Diplomats became backing band to R&B/Soul legend Andre Williams, and they recorded "Aphrodisiac" with ´Mr. Rhythm´, released in 2006 on both Pravda records and the Spanish Vampisoul label. That same year the band asked 3 three gifted soul sirens (Sarah Cram, Katherine Ruestow, and Abigail Sawyer) aka The Diplomettes to join the band, which brings us up to date. With a slightly renewed line-up (original drummer Jim Viner is replaced by Paul Kresowik and the departure of Abbie Sawyer leaves Sarah Cram and Katharine Ruestow as The Diplomettes), the group prepares to launch their latest full-length and fifth album, "What Goes Around Comes Around" in October 2010, confirming their standing as one of the more prolific funk and soul groups of the contemporary scene.

    The band has shared stages with Sharon Jones, Robert Walter, Wilco, The New Mastersounds and The James Taylor Quartet and toured in Italy, France, and Spain. DOSS tracks have been played on The John Peel Show and The Craig Charles Funk And Soul Show on BBC, and have served as soundtrack music for many television programs, including "Reaper" (WB Network), "Breaking Bonaduce" (VH1), "Made" (MTV), "My Super Sweet 16" (MTV), "The Osbournes" (MTV), "Parental Control" (MTV), "Punk'D" (MTV), "Room Raiders" (MTV), "Cathouse" (HBO), and "Sons Of Hollywood" (A&E).

    The current members of the band are:
    Doug Roberson on guitar
    Nate Basinger on Hammond Organ
    Paul Kresowik on drums and percussion
    Eddie McKinley on sax
    David Basinger on sax
    Sarah Cram and Kathy Ruestow on vocals.