See new Corinne Bailey Rae video!

Share this article

    Corinne Bailey Rae "I'd Do It All Again"

    Corinne Bailey Rae | MySpace Music Videos

    "I'd Do It All Again," the first single from GRAMMY winner Corinne Bailey R

    ae's forthcoming album, The Sea, goes to radio this week and will be available at all digital retailers in early January. A sweeping, defiant declaration of love and faith, the song is one of many highlights on The Sea, set for January 26th release on EMI's Capitol Records. (See below for a full tracklisting.) 

    Bailey Rae is currently in the States, showcasing songs from The Sea in sold-out performances at intimate venues. She played two shows at Los Angeles' Hotel Café earlier this week and will perform in New York City at Hiro Ballroom on Monday, December 7th, and at Joe's Pub on Wednesday, December 9th

    "Rae has undergone a tidal shift towards a raw, less manicured sound," said The Times of one of her recent London performances. "‘Are You Here' was a spiralling elegy in which she eschewed lyrical enunciation in favour of elemental anguish... ‘I'd Do It All Again' swelled with Jeff Buckley-style vocal flutters, sometimes small and bruised, sometimes huge and searching. And ‘Love's On Its Way' was more powerful still as Rae... channelled a burst of turbulent mysticism that evoked Van Morrison circa ‘Astral Weeks.'" Early U.K. album reviews have also been glowing, with The Observer noting: "Although ‘The Sea' has many hues it is dyed deep in pain... Now [it] is shaping up to be Bailey Rae's own ‘Back To Black', a rewarding hit built on pain." The Sun declared it a "five star album that has already secured a place on the Best of 2010 lists" while the Evening Standard said: "Corinne Bailey Rae's music has taken a great leap forward."

    She will tour extensively in 2010, backed by many of the musicians who played on the new album. The Sea was co-produced by Bailey Rae with Steve Brown, and Steve Chrisanthou, who produced many of the songs on her self-titled debut album, which entered the U.K. album chart at #1 in June 2006. Stateside, she was the first British female singer-songwriter in decades to have her debut album enter The Billboard 200 in the Top 20. Within the year, Bailey Rae had won a Q award, a MOJO award, an Image award and two MOBO awards and appeared on a host of television shows, including "Saturday Night Live," "The Tonight Show with Jay Leno," "Late Night with Conan O'Brien," "The Oprah Winfrey Show," "Good Morning America" and "Ellen."

    Bailey Rae was nominated for three GRAMMY awards - "Record Of The Year" and "Song Of The Year" for her first single, "Put Your Records On," and "Best New Artist." Her remarkable performance on the 2007 GRAMMY Awards telecast propelled her album into the Top 5 of The Billboard 200. The following year, "Like A Star," her second single, was nominated for "Song Of The Year" and Herbie Hancock's River: The Joni Letters, on which Corinne appeared, won the GRAMMY for "Album Of The Year."

    The tracklisting for The Sea is as follows:

    1.  Are You Here
    2.  I'd Do It All Again
    3.  Feels Like The First Time
    4.  The Blackest Lily
    5.  Closer       
    6.  Love's On Its Way
    7.  I Would Like To Call It Beauty
    8.  Paris Nights/New York Mornings
    9.  Paper Dolls
    10. Diving For Hearts
    11. The Sea