Featured Music Review

Mack Avenue Superband - Live From the Detroit Jazz Festival 2013

It all started with a New Yorker article written by a guy who normally contributes humorous pieces to The Onion. The writer, Django Gold, wrote a satirical article titled “Sonny Rollins: In His Own Words.” Gold’s Rollins trashes the music that made the legendary tenor saxophonist famous and pretty much states that his Rollins believes that he wasted 60 years of his life.

At this point,...

Featured News

It's been eight long years since we've heard anything on record from SILK, one of the great vocal groups of the 90s. The quintet has been touring this Summer with such stagemates as 112, Jagged Edge, Mint Condition, Ginuwine and Tank, but we were really hoping for some new music. So we were very excited to hear that they were in the studio.

Soul Music Birthdays


September 1

Boney James (1961)
Gloria Estafan (1957)

September 2

Sam Gooden of the Impressions (1934)
Cedric "K-Ci" Hailey of Jodeci (1969)
Billy Preston (1946)
Bobby Purify (1939)
Joe Simon (1943)

Hot New & Upcoming Releases