SoulTracks 2012 Readers' Choice Awards nominees named!

Thanks to the many SoulTrackers who provided us with nominations for this year's SoulTracks Readers' Choice Awards, the world's leading awards for independent soul artists.  Also many thanks to our nominating committee of 3,000 soul music industry professionals who - between now and October 19th - will choose from this great list the top 7 finalists in each of these categories. 

On around October 21, when we have our list of finalists, we'll send personal ballots to all SoulTracks newsletter subscribers for the final vote.  The winners will be announced in a December SoulTracks broadcast.

Here again are our nominees. Congratulations to all!

Independent Album of the Year

Betty Wright and the Roots Betty Wright: The Movie
Bettye LaVette Thankful N' Thoughtful
Bobby Womack The Bravest Man in the Universe
Conya Doss A Pocketful of Purpose
Daryl Hall Laughing Down Crying
DJ Kemit Everlasting
Dwele Greater Than One
Eric Benet The One  
Eric Roberson Mr. Nice Guy
Gregory Porter  Be Good  
Jean Baylor Light Up the World
Jeff Bradshaw Bone Appetit
Leela James Loving You More...In The Spirit of Etta James
Martin Luther  Love Is the Hero
Maysa  Motions of Love
Mint Condition Music@ The Speed of Life
Ryan Shaw Real Love  
Sy Smith Fast and Curious
Syleena Johnson Acoustic Soul Sessions (LIVE) 
The Original 7ven Condensate

Major Label Album of the Year

Anthony Hamilton Back To Love
Elle Varner Perfectly Imperfect
Emeli Sande Our Version of Events
Esperanza Spalding Radio Music Society
Frank Ocean channel ORANGE
Javier Colon Come Through for You
Lalah Hathaway Where It All Begins
Mary J. Blige My Life II…The Journey Continues
Mary Mary Go Get It
Mayer Hawthorne How Do You Do
Melanie Fiona The MF Life
Michael Kiwanuka Home Again
Monica New Life
R Kelly Write Me Back
Rebecca Ferguson Heaven
Robert Glasper Experiment Black Radio
Robin Thicke Love After War
Tank This Is How I Feel

Song of the Year

Abiah September
Conya Doss Don't Change
Dwele What Profit?
Eric Benet Harriett Jones
Eric Roberson At the Same Time
Incognito featuring Mo Brandis Goodbye to Yesterday
James Fortune & FIYA feat. Monica and Fred Hammond Hold On
Jarrard Anthony feat. Patrice Covington, Lonnie Liston Smith and Monet I Love You
Jeff Bradshaw with Kindred The Family Soul All Day Lovin'
Karyn White Sista Sista
Lenny Williams Still
Maysa When It's Over
Michael Lynche Who's Gonna Love You More
Mint Conditon  Believe in Us
PJ Morton with Jazmine Sullivan Built For Love
Rahsaan Patterson Don't Touch Me
SWV CoSign
Sy Smith with Rahsaan Patterson Nights (Feel Like Getting Down)
Syleena Johnson feat. Tweet Angry Girl
Will Downing Blessing


Male Vocalist of the Year

Carl Thomas
Daryl Hall
Elliott Yamin
Eric Benet
Eric Roberson
Gregory Porter
Jarrard Anthony
Johnny Gill
Jon Bibbs
Jonathan Butler
Jose James
Keith Sweat
Lenny Williams
Martin Luther
Mwalim DaPhunkeeProfessor
Ryan Shaw 
Will Downing

Female Vocalist of the Year

Alison Crockett
Betty Wright
Bettye LaVette
Bridgette Bryant
Cassandra Wilson
Conya Doss
Genita Pugh
Green Tea
Honey Larochelle
Jean Baylor
Karyn White
Leela James
Macy Gray
Sy Smith
Syleena Johnson
Temika Moore
Teri Tobin

Duo or Group of the Year

Boyz II Men
Cool Million
Dojo Cuts
Groove Stu
Hawthorne Headhunters
Lake Street Dive
Larry Dunn Orchestra
Mint Condition
Soul Cycle
Take 6
The E Family
The Original 7ven
The Revelations featuring Tre Williams
Venue Connection
Vintage Trouble


New Artist of the Year

Amma Whatt
Brian Owens
DJ Kemit
Gloria Ry'ann
His Devoted
J Hollins
Jessica Reedy
Kia Bennett
Michael Lynche
Nayanna Holley
Saul Williams
Sean Roux
Sid Sriram
The Endangered
The Tim Terry Experience



Listening Room
Jamison Ross - Jamison
CD of the Month
Najee - You, Me and Forever
Sneak Peek Listening Room
Teedra Moses - Cognac and Conversation
Sneak Peek Listening Room
Terri Lyne Carrington - The Mosaic Project: Love and Soul

Leave a comment!